USC System Faculty Leadership Council Bylaws

1. Name and Functions

The University of South Carolina System Faculty Leadership Council (hereinafter the Council) provides a representative voice in system affairs and facilitates collaboration among the faculty senates/organizations comprised in the University of South Carolina system. The Council consults with respect to those functions the Board of Trustees delegates to University administration, including but not limited to system-wide budget priorities, strategic plans, and policies. In such areas, the Council represents the will of the system's faculties to such bodies as may be established to administer system affairs and serves as a means by which system administration may communicate with faculty. The Council coordinates faculty governance in those areas where the Board of Trustees delegates legislative powers to the faculties of individual campuses, including but not limited to standards of admission, granting of earned degrees, and curriculum. In no instance will the Council usurp authority previously delegated to campus faculties by the Board of Trustees.

2. Membership

- 2.1. The Council comprises the following members: the chair or designee of each faculty senate/organization in the system (5); three additional representatives each from the Aiken, Beaufort, and Upstate campuses (9); three additional representatives from USC Columbia, including one Palmetto College faculty member (3); two representatives selected by the Palmetto College (2); and a non-voting representative from the System Academic Planning Council (1). All faculty representatives on the Council must be members of the voting faculty as defined by the relevant Faculty Manual and/or bylaws.
- **2.2.** The faculty senate/organization of each campus will select representatives from that campus and establish in writing a procedure for selection. Selection criteria should favor faculty governance experience in such areas as curriculum approvals, faculty welfare, and policy development.

3. Officers

- **3.1.** The council will have a chair and a secretary, each elected to two-year terms by council members.
- **3.2.** In the temporary absence of the chair, the council will appoint a chair pro tempore.
- **3.3.** Elections will take place at the first meeting of the fall semester, or when necessary to fill a vacancy.
- **3.4.** No officer may serve more than two consecutive terms in an office.

4. Meetings

- **4.1.** The council will meet at least twice per semester and as needed during the summer.
- **4.2.** The chair may call special meetings as needed and will call such a meeting whenever requested to do so in writing by at least five council members.
- **4.3.** The council may meet virtually or in person; in either case provision will be made for the remote participation of members.
- **4.4.** The secretary will prepare minutes of each meeting and circulate minutes to Council members no less than one week in advance of the subsequent meeting.

5. Parliamentary Authority

The rules contained in the current edition of Robert's Rules of Order will govern the Council in all cases to which they are applicable and in which they are not inconsistent with these bylaws. The chair will annually select a member to serve as parliamentarian.

6. Amendment of Bylaws

These bylaws may be amended at any regular meeting of the Council by a two-thirds vote, provided that the amendment has been submitted to members writing at least two weeks in advance of the vote.

7. History

For many years, faculty leaders from the four comprehensives and the Palmetto College met annually on a rotating basis at one of the four comprehensives. At the May 12, 2020 meeting of system chairs, the group determined to work toward a formal mechanism for system-level faculty representation. In summer and fall 2020, the first bylaws were drafted by;

- Brian Canada, Chair USC Beaufort Faculty Senate (2021-2023)
- Mark Cooper, Chair USC Columbia Faculty Senate (2019-2021)
- Ernest Jenkins, Chair Palmetto College Faculty Senate (2020-2022)
- Lisa Johnson, Chair USC Upstate Faculty Senate (2020-2022)
- Audrey Korsgaard, Chair USC Columbia Faculty Senate (2021-2023)
- Christine Sixta Rinehart, Chair Palmetto College Faculty Senate (2018-2020)
- Lynne Rhodes, Chair USC Aiken Faculty Organization (2019-2021)
- Jayne Violette, Chair USC Beaufort Faculty Senate (2019-2021)
- Lizabeth Zack, Chair USC Upstate Faculty Senate (2018-2020)