## Dear Senate Chair Korsgaard,

We, the undersigned, request a special meeting of the Faculty Senate for two purposes. First, before we return to our classrooms, senators have an obligation to directly engage with the administration (including the interim President and interim Provost) on the substance, adequacy, and basis of their recently revised Covid-19 related policies. The rise of the delta variant, the increases in transmissibility, cases, and hospitalizations, and the contradictory public statements of the state's elected officials raise important questions about the administration's decision to roll back testing and mask mandates. Second, recognizing the fluidity of the developing pandemic, senators require in advance of the coming semester a forum in which to deliberate on the informed terms of classroom safety, best teaching practices in the midst of an escalating public health crisis, and the necessity of course modality changes. Such deliberations are crucial to ensuring both that the Faculty Senate fulfills its important role in shared governance and that the University can successfully undertake its educational mission in a safe and responsible learning environment.

We respectfully request that you convene this meeting as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Shemsi Alhaddad - Mathematics

Justin Byars – Accounting

Kate Chappell – College of Nursing

Renee Chosed – Biomedical Sciences

Robert Dawson - School of Medicine

Sara Donevant – College of Nursing

Mathieu Deflem – Sociology

Erik Doxtader – English

Pearl Fernandes - Biology

Sabrina Habib – School of Journalism and Mass Communications

Neset Hikmet – Integrated Information Technology

Mary Hjelm – English

Rebecca Janzen – Languages, Literatures, and Cultures

Anthony Jarrells – English

Kelli Kenison - Arnold School of Public Health

Andrew Kretschmar - School of Law

Jochen Lauterbach – Chemical Engineering

Ed Madden – English

Emily Mann – Arnold School of Public Health

Christie Martin - Education

Mark Minett - English

Marcia Purday – School of Journalism and Mass Communications

Kirk Randazzo – Political Science

Hannah Rule – English

Amanda Schlegel – School of Music

Susan Schramm-Pate - Education

Frank Thorne – Mathematics

Gregory Trevors – Educational Studies Marius Valdes – School of Visual Art and Design