INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY COMMITTEE REPORT FOR FACULTY SENATE JUNE 2021 MEETING

Copyright Policy

After five years of work, including consultation with faculty and administration at Columbia and other campuses, the Committee submitted a proposal for a new Copyright Policy (ACAF 1.35), which is ready to soon become university policy (pending presidential approval).

The new Copyright Policy is part of a package of changes, including a major revision to the University's Intellectual Property Policy (ACAF 1.33) to remove copyright provisions and focus the policy on patentable works, and repealing the out-of-date Software Policy (ACAF 1.39).

The new Copyright Policy was posted May 4 for a public comment period that ended May 18.

The policy generally provides that faculty will typically hold the copyrights to academic works they create within the scope of their employment, in any medium (including online), subject to a few, limited exceptions such as work funded by an external entity that requires it own the work as a condition of the funding.

Committee Membership

My term on the committee and as chair end in August. The membership of the committee for 2021-22 will be as follows:

Name	Position	Department	Term Expires
Michael Weisenberg, Chair	Elected	University Libraries	2023
Cormac Cannon	Elected	Music	2022
Milind Kuncher	Elected	Physics & Astronomy	2022
John Lavigne	Elected	Chemistry & Biochemistry	2023
Michael Myrick	Appointed	Chemistry and Biochemistry	2023
Ned Snow	Appointed	School of Law	2023
Melissa Moss	Appointed	Engineering	2023
Chad Hardaway	Appointed, ex officio	Director, Technology Commercialization	
George Lampl	Appointed	Office of General Counsel	

Respectfully submitted,

Eric P. Robinson
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
College of Information and Communications
Chair, Intellectual Property Committee