<u>Minutes for the Meeting of the Committee of Nine – November 18, 2020</u> Submitted by Stacie Davenport

Mark Cooper, Chair of the Faculty Senate, chaired the meeting. The meeting began at 1:00pm.

Members Present: Prof. Mark Cooper Prof. Derek Black Prof. Gloria Boutte Prof. Tena Crews Dr. Heather Heckman Prof. Marco Valtorta Prof. Thomas Vogt Prof. Patrick Wright

Non-voting members present: Prof. Alexander Beecroft Prof. Shirley Staples Carter Prof. Susan Cutter Prof. Carol Harrison Prof. Scott Weiss

The following were also present: Tayloe Harding Dennis Pruitt Joe Sobieralski

Professor Cooper opened the meeting.

The minutes from the November 11th meeting were approved and will be placed on the Faculty Senate webpage found here:

https://www.sc.edu/about/offices and divisions/faculty senate/committees/committee of 9/index.php

Professor Cooper thanked the subcommittees who have worked on responses to the EAB report submitted by David Attis. Recommendations 4 - 6 will be reviewed today as well as weighting the recommendations by importance.

The subcommittee reports for recommendations 4 - 6 were discussed and suggestions/edits were made.

Discussion included

- 1) Opportunities related to doctoral programs to include:
 - a. Representation
 - b. The CHE Process

- c. Stipends
- 2) Engagement with K-12 Programs
 - a. Enhancing quality of incoming students
 - b. AP classes

The Committee agreed that the six recommendations should be listed in order of importance.

Professor Cooper stated he would make updates as discussed and will have draft report back to the committee on or around Thanksgiving. The Committee of Nine will meet on Wednesday, December 2 to review the final report and resolve any outstanding issues.

The meeting adjourned at 2:00pm