<u>Minutes for the Meeting of the Committee of Nine – November 11, 2020</u> Submitted by Stacie Davenport

Mark Cooper, Chair of the Faculty Senate, chaired the meeting. The meeting began at 1:00pm.

Members Present:

Prof. Mark Cooper

Prof. Derek Black

Prof. Gloria Boutte

Prof. Tena Crews

Dr. Heather Heckman

Prof. Marco Valtorta

Prof. Thomas Vogt

Prof. Patrick Wright

Non-voting members present:

Prof. Alexander Beecroft

Prof. Shirley Staples Carter

Prof. Susan Cutter

Prof. Carol Harrison

Prof. Scott Weiss

The following were also present:

Tayloe Harding

Dennis Pruitt

Joe Sobieralski

Professor Cooper opened the meeting.

The minutes from the November 4th meeting were approved and will be placed on the Faculty Senate webpage found here:

https://www.sc.edu/about/offices_and_divisions/faculty_senate/committees/committee_of_9/index.php

Professor Cooper thanked the subcommittees who have worked on responses to the EAB report submitted by David Attis.

The first three subcommittee responses to the report were discussed and suggestions/edits were made.

Discussion included information on

- Research vs Teaching faculty
- Deans/Department chairs responsibility levels
- College organization considerations
- How does EAB define quality students?

Professor Cooper indicated he would update the report for another review by the committee. The topic of the next meeting on November 18th will be the responses to the remaining three recommendations.

After no further discussion the meeting adjourned shortly after 2:00pm.