<u>Minutes for the Meeting of the Committee of Nine – September 30, 2020</u> Submitted by Stacie Davenport

Mark Cooper, Chair of the Faculty Senate, chaired the meeting. The meeting began at 1:00.

Members Present: Prof. Mark Cooper Prof. Derek Black Prof. Gloria Boutte Prof. Tena Crews Dr. Heather Heckman Prof. Coretta Jenerette Prof. Marco Valtorta Prof. Thomas Vogt Prof. Patrick Wright

Non-voting members present: Prof. Alexander Beecroft Prof. Shirley Staples Carter Prof. Susan Cutter Prof. Carol Harrison Prof. Scott Weiss

The following were also present: Tayloe Harding Dennis Pruitt Joe Sobieralski Julian Williams

EAB: David Attis

Professor Cooper opened the meeting. The minutes from the September 23rd meeting were approved. The minutes will be placed on the Faculty Senate webpage found here:

https://www.sc.edu/about/offices_and_divisions/faculty_senate/committees/committee_ of_9/index.php

Following the approval of the minutes, Professor Cooper turned the meeting over to David Attis.

Mr. Attis presented information on instructional costs.

David first revisited the charge to the Committee of Nine & EAB and discussed how reducing costs, reviewing instructional capacity, understanding enrollment changes and considering academic program offerings fit within that charge.

A period of discussion and questions and answers followed. Topics of discussion and questions included:

- Institutional vs. colleges vs. departmental opportunities and challenges
- Data presentation elements and how to address (e.g. joint faculty appointments.)
- Resource allocation decisions
- Columbia vs. system focus
- Efficiency opportunities

The group agreed that more discussion on this topic is required. It was decided the instructional cost discussion would continue during the next meeting.

After no further discussion, the meeting was adjourned at 2:00pm.