Minutes for the Meeting of the Committee of Nine July 22, 2020

Submitted by Thomas Vogt

Mark Cooper, Chair of the Faculty Senate, chaired the meeting. The meeting started around 14:30. All members were present.

The membership consists of nine regular members:

Prof. Mark Cooper, Chair, Faculty Senate, CAS
Prof. Derek Black, School of Law
Prof. Gloria Boutte, Instruction and Teacher Education, COE
Prof. Tena Crews, Department of Sport and Entertainment Management in the College of Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management (HRSM).
Dr. Heather Heckman, Associate Dean for Technology, University Libraries
Prof. Coretta Jenerette, Associate Dean for Diversity Equity and Inclusivity, College of Nursing
Prof. Marco Valtorta, Computer Science and Engineering, CEC
Prof. Thomas Vogt, Chemistry and Biochemistry, CAS
Prof. Patrick Wright, Management, DMSB

and five additional, non-voting, members: Prof. Alexander Beecroft, Language, Literatures, and Cultures, CAS Prof. Shirley Staples Carter, School of Journalism and Mass Communications, CIC Prof. Susan Cutter, Geography, CAS Prof. Carol Harrison, History, CAS Prof. Scott Weiss, Director of Orchestras, School of Music

In addition to the committee members, the following were present: Tayloe Harding, School of Music Joe Sobieralski, Admin & Finance Dennis Pruitt, Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support

Professor Cooper called the meeting to order and the minutes of the last meeting (July 15th 2020) were approved.

Topics of this meeting were organizational and the main outcomes are summarized:

On Transparency and Communication:

To enhance transparency, the minutes of the "committee of 9 + 5" will be published on the Senate website after approval by the full committee.

There might be times when the committee will need to go into executive session to deliberate sensitive matter. No votes can be taken in executive session.

The agenda of the next meeting will be announced in the minutes.

We will have a dedicated minute taker in the near future.

The committee members will be open to input and feedback from faculty, staff and students which can then be discussed in meetings.

On Voting Protocols:

We understand our role as advisory <u>and</u> being involved in decisions regarding the future of academic programs and tenured faculty at UofSC. This dual charge results in different voting protocols:

In its advisory role the "committee of 9 + 5" will vote and we will simply record the vote. It was also seen as productive to outline the majority and minority opinion in order to document the diversity of opinions.

In a matter where a decision (i.e. discontinuation of programs, involuntary RIF of tenured faculty) is required only the committee of 9 will vote. The majority and minority opinions can be documented. The committee came to the conclusion that a super majority of (6-to-3 or higher) would signal committee approval. This higher barrier than a simple majority (5:4) was seen as an incentive to intensify deliberations and seek consensus.

Agenda for the next meeting:

Kelly Epting, Associate VP for Finance and Budget and Mandy Kibler, University controller will outline the budget situation. We hope that it is possible to obtain summaries and PowerPoints before the meeting next Wednesday, July 29, 2020.