INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2014 – 2015

The Faculty Senate's Intellectual Property Committee for 2014 – 2015 was composed of the following members:

Elected

	Nathaniel Bell	Nursing (2017)
	Duncan Buell	College of Engineering & Computing (2015)
	Chun-Hui Miao	Darla Moore School of Business (2016)
	Scott Phinney, Chair	University Libraries (2015)
	Paula Vasquez	Mathematics (2017)
	Peisheng Xu	College of Pharmacy (2016)
Appointed		
	Chad Hardaway	Director, Office of Technology Commercialization, <i>ex officio</i>
	George Lampl	Office of General Counsel
	Michael Matthews	Chemical Engineering (2016)
	Qian Wang	Chemistry & Biochemistry (2016)

The Committee met in person five times during the 2014 - 2015 academic year to conduct its business. Professors Miao and Wang were on sabbatical during the fall semester. Professor Miao was unable to participate in the work of the committee during that semester and was relieved by Professor Robert Brookshire (Hospitality, Retail, and Sport Management) who graciously agreed to substitute. Professor Wang was able to attend some meetings.

1. Faculty Review Requests.

No items for review came before the Intellectual Property Committee during the 2014 – 2015 academic year.

2. <u>Intellectual Property Policy.</u>

The Committee's major work for the year was its continuing work on the revision of the existing Intellectual Property Policy (ACAF 1.33), most recently revised and adopted April 26, 2005. This review was undertaken at the 2013 request of the Office of Technology Commercialization, formerly known as the Intellectual Property Office. The committee focused its efforts on removing the Copyright sections of the Intellectual Property Policy and placing them into a separate Copyright policy draft, along with language indicating proper use. The drafts of the Intellectual Property Policy and Copyright Policy were not completed before the end of the 2014-2015 academic year. This work should continue under the leadership of a new chair.

3. Election of Chair.

Committee Chair Scott Phinney's term expired in August 2015. Calls for nominations for a chair for 2015-2016 were not answered. Election of a chair will occur at the beginning of the Fall 2015 semester.

4. Incoming Members.

Newly elected members for the coming year include: Professors Amie Freeman (University Libraries, 2018) and Steven Liu (Educational Studies, 2018) to replace seats

held by outgoing members Professors Duncan Buell (College of Engineering & Computing) and Scott Phinney (University Libraries).

Respectfully submitted, Scott Phinney University Libraries Chair, Intellectual Property Committee