INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY COMMITTEE ANNUAL REPORT 2013 – 2014

The Faculty Senate's Intellectual Property Committee for 2013 – 2014 was composed of the following members:

Elected

Duncan Buell	College of Engineering & Computing (2015)
April Hathcock	School of Law Library (2014)
Esmaiel Jabbari	College of Engineering & Computing (2014)
Chun-Hui Miao	Darla Moore School of Business (2016)
Scott Phinney, Chair	University Libraries (2015)
Peisheng Xu	College of Pharmacy (2016)
Appointed	
Chad Hardaway	Director, Office of Technology Commercialization, <i>ex officio</i>
George Lampl	Office of General Counsel
Michael Matthews	Chemical Engineering (2016)
Qian Wang	Chemistry & Biochemistry (2016)

The Committee met in person five times during the 2013 - 2014 academic year to conduct its business.

1. Faculty Review Requests.

No items for review came before the Intellectual Property Committee during the 2013 – 2014 academic year.

2. Intellectual Property Policy.

The Committee's major work for the year was a review of the existing Intellectual Property Policy (ACAF 1.33), most recently revised and adopted April 26, 2005. This review was undertaken at the request of the Office of Technology Commercialization, formerly known as the Intellectual Property Office. The review, which included the 2011 draft proposal not implemented, identified several areas that the Committee felt needed further work. A new draft of the Intellectual Property Policy was not completed before the end of the 2013-2014 academic year, but the Committee plans to take up this work again for 2014-2015.

3. <u>Copyright Use Task Force.</u>

Committee Chair Scott Phinney served as a liaison between the Intellectual Property Committee and the Copyright Use Task Force convened by Vice-Provost Ford. The purpose of this task force was to establish a better venue for the University community to gain information about copyright use. At the end of the 2013-2014 academic year, a draft of a copyright use website had been created but not yet officially launched.

4. Election of Chair.

Committee Chair Scott Phinney agreed to run as a candidate for the Intellectual Property Committee Chair for 2014-2015 and was elected at the April 10, 2014 meeting.

5. <u>Incoming Members.</u>

Newly elected members for the coming year include: Professors Nathaniel Bell (College of Nursing, 2017) and Paula Vasquez (Mathematics, 2017) to replace seats held by outgoing members Professors April Hathcock (School of Law Library) and Esmaiel Jabbari (College of Engineering & Computing).

Respectfully submitted, Scott Phinney University Libraries Chair, Intellectual Property Committee